X Close

Bihar Assembly elections will happen in three phases, begins on October 28: Election Commission


The Election Commission (EC) on Friday announced that the Bihar Assembly elections will happen in 3 phases from 

The first phase will include 71 assembly constituencies and voting on October 28, second phase will include 94 assembly constituencies and voting on November 3rd and third phase will include 74 assembly constituencies and voting on November 7.

The model code of conduct has come in place in Bihar.

The voting time to be extended by one hour till 6 pm and COVID-19 patients can vote in last hour of the day, said the EC.

The Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that social distancing norms will need to be followed at public gatherings during election campaign.

COVID-19 pandemic has forced a new normal in all aspects of life and Bihar polls to be held under new security protocols, added the EC.

7 lakh sanitizers, 46 lakh masks, 6 lakh PPE kits, 7.6 lakh units of face shields and 23 lakh unit of hand gloves have been arranged for Bihar polls.

The term of the 243-member Bihar legislative assembly comes to an end on November 29.

The Supreme Court on Friday refused to entertain a plea seeking to postpone the upcoming Bihar Assembly elections in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

In July, the government had amended the postal ballot rules. People above 65 years of age and those either suspected to be suffering from Covid-19 or found positive will be able to vote through postal ballots.

(With agencies inputs)